Daily Archives: June 24, 2012

Response to The Shallows

The part of Nicholas Carr’s The Shallows: What the Internet is Doing to Our Brains that I’m focusing on this time is about how our reading patterns have changed over time. I’m not sure if I’m supposed to feel better or not; studies indicate that we read much less in-depth than we used to. I guess I can feel less guilty about brain overload, but I also feel a little cheated. Prior to reading this, I just assumed I was a bad reader, even though I’m really not, but now I guess I can blame it on the internet and technology in general. I prefer reading online texts and “virtual” texts like my Kindle over paper copies because I feel the “print” is easier to read, i.e., easier to skim. I’m just a skimmer! Sometimes it’s necessary, sometimes we’re told to just to get the general gist, sometimes it’s better–but rarely.

Carr talks about how we read in an F pattern now; you read the first line, skim down a couple lines, read the whole line, skip down a few lines to make sure you’re not missing anything important, then skip to the next paragraph. I’d like to think I read a little more than two lines out of a paragraph, but I know that I look for absolutely essential words, and try to block out the more flowery words. I tried to see what pattern I was reading this text in, and an F-shape seems pretty close.

What he said struck me as interesting because in Dr. Levy’s composition class, we spent about half an hour one day last week reading only the titles and first lines of short stories submitted to The New Yorker. We voted on whether we would keep reading or not; I was about half-and-half for all of the titles, but it was interesting how some people (cough Sam cough) wouldn’t read anything and others would read everything. So, in one class, we’re told to focus on creating interesting titles and beginning sentences to draw readers in, and this book says that, for readers, that seems to be the natural way to read. And why should we read something we know we’re not going to be interested in?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Response to Sara’s post

When reading Sara’s post in response to iWrite, I was most struck by number two. I think Sara initially thought about doing a research blog on the use of technology in schools or the gap in abilities that different schools in different parts of towns have in technology, which is why I was struck by this part of her response. We did watch a video in Dr. Salyer’s class about STEM labs in schools: 

I found it interesting that they said there are hundreds of schools with these labs. Well, according to the National Center for Education Statistics, as of the 2008-2009 school year, there were 24,348 secondary schools in the US. Also, does hundreds mean 200 or 900? Either way, a small percentage of schools actually have STEM labs. And that makes sense! So many schools struggle for the basics–books, paper, my high school had to beg parents to send in tissues!–that STEM labs seem so unnecessary. But are they? As someone who has very little interest in any aspect of STEM, I wonder if having a STEM lab would have changed that. I also agree that, for the US to be a world leader, we need to allow technology to continue to grow. To do that, we need to encourage our students in these fields, particularly young girls, but that’s a whole ‘nother issue.

Even outside of STEM labs, some schools are able to give all of their students iPods, iPads, or Kindles, while others have one computer lab with 20 out-of-date computers. Another video we watched in Dr. Salyer’s class was about a middle school classroom that gave all of its students iPods. The district I attended school in is switching away from textbooks to iPads, which I partly understand and partly think sounds like a disaster. Textbooks aren’t updated very often (once every seven years, I believe) and the way we see things change, the books just cannot keep up with. However, what happens when a kid breaks an iPad? While most of the county is wealthy, there are always those students whose families struggle to put food on the table, regardless of where you are. What if it’s one of these kids? Again, outside of this issue, I read a newspaper article last week in the AJC about how my former county is a Lamborghini while a poorer county in our state is a Pinto. They receive no money due to an unfair equation made up by legislators. These schools can’t even afford elective classes, but my former county can buy every student an iPad.

The high school I observed in is also a very wealthy school. However, I was surprised by the technology there (I’ve mentioned this before in a previous blog post.) The students in the special education classes were all given Kindles to help with reading. However, there were no sMART boards, and the computers in the computer lab were pretty old. However, I wonder if you went to the less-wealthy side of this county what you would see.

Okay, now I shall get off my soapbox!

Image

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized