Response to “Transforming the Group Paper with Collaborative Online Writing”

I was hoping “Transforming the Group Paper with Collaborative Online Writing” by Peter Kittle and Troy Hicks would convince me that collaborative writing is a useful tool. I remain unconvinced, as they mainly explained how to teach it in the classroom. I’m not sure I will do this. I, personally, hate group work, and I think most people agree with me, even extroverts. No one likes relying on other people for their grade, unless you’re lazy. Group work should be collaborative, but it usually does not turn out that way.

Disclaimer: This is not to say I don’t enjoy working with Kacee and Abby. I do! They’re great group members!

However, I think back to the first time I had to write a collaborative paper. It was my freshman year of college in a terrible ethics class I had to take. We had to find an ethical situation in a TV show or movie, and work with three other people to write a paper about it, which we then had to present. The paper had to be ten pages, so I delegated two pages to everyone else and took four for myself (for the team.) I also edited everyone else’s parts (which I would have done anyway, because I’m Hannah) and made sure it flowed (and trust me, after tons of edits, that thing FLOWED.)

The problem? The way the grading was assigned was by peer evaluations. You could only assign one A, one B, one C, and one D. Nothing more, nothing less. The “leader” of our group decided she would spend hours in the video lab copying the portions of the TV show we were using (The OC, which she also chose) so they could be shown directly without skipping or rewinding…Even though that was not required! So she spent more time on it than I did, but I had other things to do! So even with all the work I put in, I still got a B.

Now I know this issue has more to do with group work than collaborative writing, but I feel like it just serves no purpose. I can understand having groups work collaboratively on Wikis, like we’ve been doing in class–But that is far different than writing a paper together.

One example I think of is a book I read last semester for Dr. Rish’s class called Teaching Literacy for Love and Wisdom: Being the Book and Being the Change by Jeffrey D. Wilhelm and Bruce Novak. Aside from the fact that it was terribly boring, it was awkward to read because Wilhelm and Novak had trouble with the collaborating part and instead referred to themselves in third person so it was clear who was writing what. For example, in paragraph one: Bruce feels like blah blah blah. Paragraph two: Jeff thinks blah blah blah. Doesn’t that defeat the purpose??

I will say one thing though, in the opposite order of what Kacee calls the “Pet pet slap theory.” I could hardly tell this article was written by two people! Kittle and Hicks were successful in writing collaboratively.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Response to “Transforming the Group Paper with Collaborative Online Writing”

  1. d cro

    Wow, that seems like an overly thought means of group grading with some pretty questionable assumptions. Definitely managing group work–ensuring that students are contributing equally and grading them accordingly–is a challenge, though there are ways to build levies that channel students. I think peer review/assessment can play a role, though not as extensive as what you describe. Contractual arrangements, checkpoint reports, and brief individual meetings can also help.

  2. I read that book in entirety, and the constant third person shifting became so convoluted I began to enter each new paragraph with a new level of disdain. It is a shame too, because the content in the book was well researched and fairly significant. The poor delivery made their work suffer greatly. Crovitz is right I definitely recommend checkpoint systems and group meetings for check-ins. I have seen this in a class before and it worked fairly well. I still did most of the work but that was just a quality control problem and a passionate subject on my end. I had a much more pessimistic view of Lord of the Flies than my group wanted to present. I even had to take over a classmates portion because they blanked, but I think that was a good learning experience.

    I don’t think I will completely discount collaborative writing in the classroom, but I would definitely give it careful consideration. I might try implementing this into the multi-genre research project when I finally get around to getting that into my room. Maybe have them collaborate and attempt to combine topics that work well together. Now that I am writing this out I think it might be more restrictive than the project demands. It might be a better idea to just have them collaborate with a partner of their choosing on a piece they are less comfortable creating unassisted. If they want to include a short story, for example, but want a few ideas, suggestions, etc. they could collaborate with a classmate.

  3. Pingback: Can We Find Common Ground in Teaching Collaborative Writing? « Always Swank

  4. Pingback: Modality in Teaching Literature « Always Swank

  5. Pingback: Response to Hannah « My suitcase…

Leave a comment